top of page
DSC_0044 Kopie_edited_edited.jpg

Theater for Youth - An training course on the Theater of the Oppressed Methodology

 

06-13 November 2022
Far-sighted house, Guggisberg BE / Switzerland

Theater of the Oppressed is an innovative pedagogical method aimed at people who have no experience of acting or performing on stage or in public. Using the Theater of the Oppressed method, participants can discover encouraging solutions for everyday life when working with young people. The learning experience can be used by youth workers, social workers, teachers and educators to analyze and discover difficulties in real life situations, to build trust, mutual respect and understanding not only on stage but also in everyday life to accomplish.

"THEATER FOR YOUTH" is an action-oriented training for youth workers and professionals who deal with and work on anti-discrimination, human rights protection and intercultural learning.

background

Young people across Europe are at high risk of social exclusion and poverty, stemming from human rights violations and discrimination based on nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, socio-economic status, etc. Education for JYouth professionals and other educators are very important in challenging situations that they face together with young people. They need to improve and pass on their skills that young people acquire through educational activities and volunteer work in youth organizations. 

contents

-Human rights issues and discussions to understand what they are and how their violation manifests itself (discrimination, stereotypes and prejudice)

- Creative theater workshops on Augusto Boal's Theater of the Oppressed and how it can be integrated into the practice of the youth work of the participants  .

- Elaboration of forum plays reflecting the themes relevant to the participants and their youngsters.

- In particular, the group will explore/investigate how this methodology can be used to research social inclusion and support the participation of young people.

- Give participants the opportunity to practice their moderation skills and in particular to learn how to be a "joker" in forum theater.

- Give the participants a space to develop local and international projects with their young people.

- Design, write and present action plans for their local community.

Below you will find some impressions and words concerning the Theatre to Youth 2022:

In the 2022 edition, 18 participants from Bulgaria, Germany, Israel, Palestine, Kosovo, Macedonia, Switzerland and Serbia went there. 

 

At the beginning of the week, playful methods were used to facilitate contact and thus make it easier to get to know each other. Then the focus was on the theory of 'theatre of the oppressed'. Then the respective groups presented the sequences they had studied. This led to intensive exchanges, discussions about possible modifications and improvised interventions. Finally, each national group met to imagine and present concrete projects that could be realised in the future. 

 

This week showed that cultural differences can sometimes be very important. Nevertheless, there is always a unifying element. This element must be consolidated as much as possible in order to grow and to tackle positive changes together. 

 

The participants in this programme, as well as the young people in their respective countries, benefit from the experiences gained, the newly created networks and the discussions around the themes of discrimination, oppression and human rights.   

 

In a nutshell: 

A great week - amazing people - want more!

bottom of page

DSC_0044 Kopie_edited_edited.jpg

Theater for Youth - Ein internationaler Trainingskurs mit der 'Theater der Unterdrückten'-Methode

 

06.-13. November 2022
Weitblick-Haus, Guggisberg BE / Schweiz

Das Theater der Unterdrückten ist eine innovative pädagogische Methode, die sich an Menschen richtet, die keine Erfahrung mit dem Schauspielen oder der Darstellung auf der Bühne oder in der Öffentlichkeit haben. Mit der Methode des Theaters der Unterdrückten können die Teilnehmer in der Arbeit mit jungen Menschen ermutigende Lösungen für den Alltag entdecken. Die Lernerfahrung kann von Jugendarbeiter*innen, Sozialarbeiter*innen, Lehrer*innen und Erzieher*innen eingesetzt werden, um Schwierigkeiten in realen Lebenssituationen zu analysieren und zu entdecken, um Vertrauen, gegenseitigen Respekt und Verständnis nicht nur auf der Bühne, sondern auch im Alltag zu schaffen.

"THEATER FOR YOUTH" ist ein handlungsorientiertes Training für Jugendarbeiter und Fachleute, die sich mit Antidiskriminierung, Menschenrechtsschutz und interkulturellem Lernen befassen und daran arbeiten.

Hintergrund

Jugendliche in ganz Europa sind in hohem Maße von sozialer Ausgrenzung und Armut bedroht, was auf Menschenrechtsverletzungen und Diskriminierung aufgrund von Nationalität, Religion, Geschlecht, sexueller Orientierung, sozioökonomischem Status usw. zurückzuführen ist. Bildung für Jugend-Fachkräfte und andere Pädagoginnen und Pädagogen sind in herausfordernden Situationen, denen sie gemeinsam mit Jugendlichen begegnen, sehr wichtig. Sie müssen ihre Kompetenzen verbessern und sie weitergeben, die junge Menschen durch Bildungsaktivitäten und Freiwilligenarbeit in Jugendorganisationen erwerben. 

Inhalt

-Menschenrechtsthemen und -diskussionen, um zu verstehen, was sie sind und wie sich ihre Verletzung äußert (Diskriminierung, Stereotypen und   Vorurteile)

- Kreative Theaterworkshops über das Theater der Unterdrückten von Augusto Boal und wie es in die Praxis der Jugendarbeit der Teilnehmer integriert   werden kann.

- Erarbeitung von Forumtheaterstücken, die die für die Teilnehmer und ihre Jugendlichen relevanten Themen widerspiegeln.

- Insbesondere wird die Gruppe erforschen/untersuchen, wie diese Methodik genutzt werden kann, um die soziale Eingliederung zu erforschen und die   Beteiligung junger Menschen zu unterstützen.

- Den Teilnehmern die Möglichkeit geben, ihre Moderationsfähigkeiten zu üben und insbesondere zu lernen, wie man ein "Joker" im Forumtheater ist.

- Den Teilnehmern einen Raum geben, um mit ihren Jugendlichen lokale und internationale Projekte zu entwickeln.

- Entwerfen, schreiben und präsentieren Sie Aktionspläne für ihre lokale Gemeinschaft.

Untenstehend finden sie einige Impressionen und Worte betreffend des Theater to Youth 2022:

In der Ausgabe 2022 sind insgesamt 18 Teilnehmer*innen aus den Ländern Bulgarien, Deutschland, Israel, Palästina, Kosovo, Mazedonien, Schweiz und Serbien vor Ort gewesen. 

Zu Beginn der Woche wurde mittels spielerischen Methoden die Kontaktaufnahme erleichtert und das Kennenlernen somit vereinfacht. Anschliessend wurde das Augenmerk auf die Theorie des 'Theaters der Unterdrückten' gelegt. Im Anschluss hatten die jeweiligen Gruppen die einstudierten Sequenzen vorgeführt. Intensiver Austausch, Diskussionen für mögliche Abänderungen und improvisierte Eingriffe waren die Konsequenz, welche daraus resultierte. Zum Abschluss hatte sich jede Ländergruppe zusammengesetzt und mögliche konkrete Projekte, welche für die Zukunft realisiert werden könnten, ausgedacht und präsentiert. 

Diese Woche hat aufgezeigt, dass kulturelle Differenzen teilweise massiv auseinander gehen können. Nichtsdestotrotz ist immer ein verbindendes Element vorhanden. Dieses Element soll möglichst gefestigt werden, um daran zu wachsen und um positive Veränderungen gemeinschaftlich anzugehen. 

Die Teilnehmer*innen dieses Programms, wie auch die Jugendlichen in den entsprechenden Heimatländern, profitieren von den gesammelten Erfahrungen, den neu geschaffenen Netzwerken und den Diskussionen rund um die Themen Diskriminierung, Unterdrückung und Menschenrechten.   

Kurz und knapp zusammengefasst: 
Grossartige Woche – Wunderbare Menschen – Mehr davon!